Featured

30 Books For My 30th

Next

dscn6959-1Question: if you could write a love letter to any book you’ve ever read which would it be?

Are you sick of me banging on about turning 30 yet? It’s already been 2 months meaning there’s still a full 10 to go. So if you aren’t now then I guarantee you will be. March, of course, is special because it’s my actual birthday on the 5th. I decided to mark the occasion by starting my biggest blog challenge yet. It’s something I’m already kind of dreading and I haven’t even started it yet. However, I’m equally pretty excited about it. It’s something I’ve been thinking of for a while and now seemed like the best time. It is also super fitting that I’m launching this on World Book Day. I love when life works out like that.

Continue reading “30 Books For My 30th”

Creatively Content – #cs_colourmyworld

img_0071-01_chroma-018834349703622924431.jpeg This week’ss Creatively Squared challenge was all about adding colour to the world. Something I’m not normally good at. I prefer a minimal and natural kind of vibe. My photos are either on a white background or a wooden one. So, making things more colourful isn’t exactly my vibe. But the #cs_colourmyworld hashtag wanted to encourage people to edit their photos to bring them to life. Normally, I don’t do much to edit my photos. Well, I sort out the usual sort of things. If they’re a bit too bright or dark the I’ll fix it. But I’m not one for trying anything too much. Is that because I prefer a natural simplicity or because I’m still teaching myself how to do fancy things on Photoshop? You decide.

Continue reading “Creatively Content – #cs_colourmyworld”

Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read

img_4240

How has your week been? What have you been reading?

In terms of reading, I’ve done super badly this week. I don’t know what’s gone so wrong but I just haven’t been in the mood. I’ve not really slept well all week which hasn’t helped. Too tired to concentrate on the pages. But I’ve had a relaxing weekend. A relaxing but non-bookish weekend, unfortunately. Still, there’s been a lot of family time. My sister brought my niece over both today and yesterday which has meant lots of cuddles. Babies still kind of scare me but I’m getting used to it. Or at least less terrified to be left holding one. It’ll take small steps.

Continue reading “Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read”

TBT – Casper (1995)

casper_poster5_star_rating_system_2_stars Normally, I like to match my TBT film with my Tuesday Review. Whether it’s thematically or by actor, I attempt to link them. This week? I’m so fucking exhausted this week I wanted to find the quickest film I could and bosh out a quick review. I don’t know what’s wrong with me but I have not been sleeping well. So, I picked the shortest film that I could find quickly on Netflix. And this was one I hadn’t seen for a while. Plus it stars Bill Pullman and it’s always a fun game trying to work out if he’s the Bill I think he is or not. He’s the one from Independence Day but not Twister, right? I don’t even know why I get so confused. He and Bill Paxton don’t even look alike. I just get confused because they have the same name. My brain is either just fucking with me on purpose or so stupid that someone having the same name as another person really confuses it. Which means having such a common name as Laura must be a huge mind-fuck for it.

Continue reading “TBT – Casper (1995)”

Bookish Post: Book Blogger Memory Challenge

I’m going to be honest, my reading this week has been appalling. Supper Club was slow going so I bought another book that I hoped I’d get through in no time. Then I stopped sleeping properly and stopped getting anywhere. So, it’s Wednesday and I don’t have a new book to review. I’d also planned on writing a review of one of my favourite books but I’m so tired. I’ve just not had the energy to do anything tonight. Well, except for giving my blog a quick makeover. I’m not sure what I think about this theme but I am loving my new Motherbooker logo. It’s something I’ve been thinking about for ages and I finally got to the point where I just had to stop thinking and do it. It’s simple but I like it. The problem is, it doesn’t help me decide what I’m going to post tonight. So, I saw this book tag on Naty’s Bookshelf recently and, as I have no other plan, this seems like a good choice. Although, I have an abysmal memory. I’ve genuinely forgotten most of my childhood. The more my family talks about the past, the more I think I was actually adopted or something.

Continue reading “Bookish Post: Book Blogger Memory Challenge”

Tuesday Review – The Kitchen (2019)

the_kitchen_poster5_star_rating_system_1_and_a_half_stars It feels as if Melissa McCarthy and I have been here too many times before. Me wanting to believe that her latest film would be the one to give her the role she deserved. And, coming off the back of her amazing performance in Can You Ever Forgive Me? I was confident that she was on her way up. The Kitchen seemed like a great fit. Based on a Vertigo comic book miniseries about housewives taking their husbands’ place in the Irish mob. It’s an adaptation written and directed by Andrea Berloff and starring Elisabeth Moss and Tiffany Haddish. This was a film that was making so many promises about celebrating women that I had to believe that it would be perfect. But could it ever live up to our expectations?

Continue reading “Tuesday Review – The Kitchen (2019)”

Creatively Content: #cs_makeitextraordinary

img_20190805_192035-012875695243733997033.jpeg I didn’t really take part in last week’s Creatively Squared challenge in the end. It was a make up from the previous weeks and I’d done everything I wanted to do with the other hashtag challenges. So, I waited for the new one and it was a good one. The #cs_makeitextraordinary hashtag was all taking ordinary objects and making them extraordinary. Something that I tried to get on board with despite my absolute lack of artistic skills. As my teacher once said, I have the ideas but lack the ability to execute them. He was a dick but fairly accurate. 

Continue reading “Creatively Content: #cs_makeitextraordinary”

Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read

img_4240

How has your week been? What have you been reading?

I’ve eaten so much this weekend. It’s not even funny. Yesterday, I went to a local food market with a friend. We ate bratwurst and churros. Then I bought the biggest slice of custard tart for that evening. And I still have a massive slice of cheesecake to eat. Then, today I made brownies for a friend but, because the first batch went wrong, I had to make them again. And, after I’d made the first batch, I used the leftover peanut butter chips to make pancakes. I’m fucking stuffed and I still have my evening meal to eat. I think I’ll have to go for a walk to make room. I was meant to be using today to read. I’m just going to be in a food coma all evening.

Continue reading “Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read”

TBT – Kill Bill Vol 1 and 2 (2003 and 2004)

kill_bill_volume_15_star_rating_system_4_stars1 With the release of every new Quentin Tarantino fims there comes the same old gender discussion. Is he a massive sexist who refuses to give women ay real place in his films? This time it all kicked off when people started complaining about Margot Robbie being given so few lines in Once Upon a Time in… Hollywood. Does Robbie get short shrift? Yeah. But it’s not as if the film was even from Sharon Tate’s perspective anyway. It was a film about a male friendship that skirted around the star’s tragic death. It wasn’t supposed to explore Tate’s life but give an image of her as a person. It was a fairy tale where she was the kind, sweet, and promising young woman who didn’t deserve to have her life taken from her so brutally. Robbie and Tarantino manage to prove who Tate was without words. I’m not here to say whether Tarantino’s treatment of women is positive or negative but, in this case, it seems like a needless argument. Besides, since when is the only indication of a strong female character the number of lines they speak? As someone who has trouble speaking up at times, I’d say silence isn’t necessarily an indication of weakness.

Continue reading “TBT – Kill Bill Vol 1 and 2 (2003 and 2004)”

Book Review – Heartstream by Tom Pollock

img_0676-012924493190472698180.jpeg5_star_rating_system_2_and_a_half_stars I picked up this book because it claimed to be perfect for fans of Black Mirror. Now, being a fan of all things Charlie Brooker, I decided to give it a go. I mean, it calls itself a “taut psychological thriller about obsession, fame and betrayal”. How can you ignore claims like that? When I picked it up, I hadn’t realised that it was a YA book. I’d not read anything from Tom Pollock and I never really look into the books that sound interesting to me. So, I started reading what I thought was an adult book and I hated it. I thought it was super shit. Then I realised who this book was intended for and I realised I had to look at it differently. Turns out, once I lowered my expectations, I found it much easier to read this book and I got through it super quickly.

Continue reading “Book Review – Heartstream by Tom Pollock”

Tuesday Review – Once Upon a Time in… Hollywood (2019)

once_upon_a_time_in_hollywood_poster5_star_rating_system_4_and_a_half_stars I’ll be honest, I’m not a Quentin Tarantino fanboy. Actually, no that’s not true. I love a bit of Tarantino but I do think he is a bit overhyped. Pulp Fiction is a great film but is it really one of the greatest films ever made? I don’t think so. Is it one of the most overrated films ever made? Quite possibly. Yes, it inspired a generation of filmmakers and spawned countless copycats. The problem is, in the cold hard light of day, Pulp Fiction just feels kind of juvenile. It’s one of those too cool for its own good kind films that everyone sensationalises. In Mean Girls terms, Pulp Fiction is Regina George. Pulp Fiction is possibly one of Tarantino’s most indulgent films. He, like Spielberg, is very good at standout scenes but, below the surface, it’s kind superficial. So, I’m always a bit wary of Tarantino. But, I have enjoyed his films more and more as the years go by. And I was excited to see what he would do with this film. It’s such an iconic time in history and Tarantino taking on the story of Sharon Tate’s murder was always going to be interesting.

Continue reading “Tuesday Review – Once Upon a Time in… Hollywood (2019)”