Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read

img_4240

How has your week been? What have you been reading?

In terms of reading, I’ve done super badly this week. I don’t know what’s gone so wrong but I just haven’t been in the mood. I’ve not really slept well all week which hasn’t helped. Too tired to concentrate on the pages. But I’ve had a relaxing weekend. A relaxing but non-bookish weekend, unfortunately. Still, there’s been a lot of family time. My sister brought my niece over both today and yesterday which has meant lots of cuddles. Babies still kind of scare me but I’m getting used to it. Or at least less terrified to be left holding one. It’ll take small steps.

Continue reading “Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read”

Bookish Post: Book Blogger Memory Challenge

I’m going to be honest, my reading this week has been appalling. Supper Club was slow going so I bought another book that I hoped I’d get through in no time. Then I stopped sleeping properly and stopped getting anywhere. So, it’s Wednesday and I don’t have a new book to review. I’d also planned on writing a review of one of my favourite books but I’m so tired. I’ve just not had the energy to do anything tonight. Well, except for giving my blog a quick makeover. I’m not sure what I think about this theme but I am loving my new Motherbooker logo. It’s something I’ve been thinking about for ages and I finally got to the point where I just had to stop thinking and do it. It’s simple but I like it. The problem is, it doesn’t help me decide what I’m going to post tonight. So, I saw this book tag on Naty’s Bookshelf recently and, as I have no other plan, this seems like a good choice. Although, I have an abysmal memory. I’ve genuinely forgotten most of my childhood. The more my family talks about the past, the more I think I was actually adopted or something.

Continue reading “Bookish Post: Book Blogger Memory Challenge”

Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read

img_4240

How has your week been? What have you been reading?

I’ve eaten so much this weekend. It’s not even funny. Yesterday, I went to a local food market with a friend. We ate bratwurst and churros. Then I bought the biggest slice of custard tart for that evening. And I still have a massive slice of cheesecake to eat. Then, today I made brownies for a friend but, because the first batch went wrong, I had to make them again. And, after I’d made the first batch, I used the leftover peanut butter chips to make pancakes. I’m fucking stuffed and I still have my evening meal to eat. I think I’ll have to go for a walk to make room. I was meant to be using today to read. I’m just going to be in a food coma all evening.

Continue reading “Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read”

Book Review – Heartstream by Tom Pollock

img_0676-012924493190472698180.jpeg5_star_rating_system_2_and_a_half_stars I picked up this book because it claimed to be perfect for fans of Black Mirror. Now, being a fan of all things Charlie Brooker, I decided to give it a go. I mean, it calls itself a “taut psychological thriller about obsession, fame and betrayal”. How can you ignore claims like that? When I picked it up, I hadn’t realised that it was a YA book. I’d not read anything from Tom Pollock and I never really look into the books that sound interesting to me. So, I started reading what I thought was an adult book and I hated it. I thought it was super shit. Then I realised who this book was intended for and I realised I had to look at it differently. Turns out, once I lowered my expectations, I found it much easier to read this book and I got through it super quickly.

Continue reading “Book Review – Heartstream by Tom Pollock”

Bookish Post – July Reading Wrap-Up

img_20190124_114545-012195561328041245379.jpeg

Apparently I didn’t do a monthly wrap-up last month. God knows why. Although, I did do a Mid-Year Rundown last month. A quick look back on the best and worst books I’ve read in the first half of this year.

Continue reading “Bookish Post – July Reading Wrap-Up”

Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read

img_4240

How has your week been? What have you been reading?

Is it just me or are the weeks getting longer and the weekends getting shorter? Maybe it’s because I don’t have any leave from work coming up but my workdays are dragging along. And this weekend went by in the blink of an eye. Although, I had a great time on Saturday celebrating the 1st birthday of my friend’s son. She threw a BBQ and it was super nice. Hot but nice. I definitely got sunburnt but it was worth it. The three of them had a great time. But today has flown by. I wasted a few hours finishing my current read this morning and then spent some time taking photos for the week. Then I’ve just wasted my time. Just like normal. Classic Sunday.

Continue reading “Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read”

Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read

img_4240

How has your week been? What have you been reading?

This weekend has just flown by. Yesterday was a long day that saw me traveling to and from a friend’s wedding. It took 2 hours to get there, 2 hours back, and a lot sitting around waiting. Most of the guests were staying over so could go and wait in their hotel rooms. Not me. Plus, I couldn’t drink anything most of the night for fear I’d need loads of toilet breaks on the journey home. But the actual wedding was lovely and a lot of fun. The bride looked beautiful and it was a really emotional day. But I’m tired and have done nothing all day. Well, except get angry with a random comment on my Instagram. After ranting about how badly written and pretentious a book was, someone commented that they “liked complicated language” and might give it a go. To me, this suggested that they hadn’t read my caption properly and were suggesting I was too stupid to understand the book. I wasn’t. I was suggesting the writer was too stupid to write a book. What is this awful shaming thing that goes on with bookish people? It’s pathetic. If you want to waste your time reading a book with nothing to say then fine. Just don’t suggest that I’m not a good enough reader for a book you’ve not even seen.

Continue reading “Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read”

Book Review – Love Nina by Nina Stibbe

dscn9688-013029064272233136979.jpeg5_star_rating_system_4_stars1 I’m an avid listener of the Adam Buxton podcast. I love hearing his rambly chats with people and, I’ve found, that it’s a pretty good thing to listen to at work. A few weeks ago, Adam was talking to author Nina Stibbe. Before that point, I’d never read anything by Stibbe but I knew of her. She seemed like such a lovely person that I picked up a copy of her book Love Nina. I had meant to watch the BBC adaptation a while ago but, because I never watch normal TV, I never got round to it. It’s something I definitely want to watch now that I’ve finished the book. I do have to admit that, thanks to my knowledge of the show, I kept imagining Mary-Kay as Helena Bonham Carter and Nina as Faye Marsay.

Continue reading “Book Review – Love Nina by Nina Stibbe”

Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read

img_4240

How has your week been? What have you been reading?

So, you may have noticed that I took a brief leave of absence last week. It wasn’t something that I’d planned but it felt like I needed to. On Monday, 5 days before her due date, my sister gave birth to her first child. She went through a lot to get to this stage so it’s something she, her husband, and our whole family have been eagerly awaiting. I mean, I know pretty much everyone eagerly awaits a new baby but this was more than a typical amount. I think we’ve all been so anxious that the whole pregnancy has flown by without us really daring to get too excited. Which means, when the baby arrived early, we were all ready to let that excitement out. And, in doing that, I haven’t really stayed on top of reading, watching, or blogging. I hope to make up a few missed posts this week but I also have shit to do this week. We’ll see how it goes.

Continue reading “Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read”

Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read

img_4240

How has your week been? What have you been reading?

This time next week I’ll be in London having finally seen Hamilton. I’m super excited but I’ve got a lot to do to get ahead. I hope to have everything ready so I don’t need to worry about posts next week but, knowing me, it probably won’t happen. At least I should get a bit of reading done on the way down and the way back. A two-hour train journey is always good for getting ahead on the old reading challenge. Truth be told, I’ve been very bad this week. I’m not even halfway through my current read so, from the look of it, I won’t be ready for a review this week either. June clearly isn’t my reading month. But nevermind.

Continue reading “Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read”