Bookish Post: Book Blogger Memory Challenge

I’m going to be honest, my reading this week has been appalling. Supper Club was slow going so I bought another book that I hoped I’d get through in no time. Then I stopped sleeping properly and stopped getting anywhere. So, it’s Wednesday and I don’t have a new book to review. I’d also planned on writing a review of one of my favourite books but I’m so tired. I’ve just not had the energy to do anything tonight. Well, except for giving my blog a quick makeover. I’m not sure what I think about this theme but I am loving my new Motherbooker logo. It’s something I’ve been thinking about for ages and I finally got to the point where I just had to stop thinking and do it. It’s simple but I like it. The problem is, it doesn’t help me decide what I’m going to post tonight. So, I saw this book tag on Naty’s Bookshelf recently and, as I have no other plan, this seems like a good choice. Although, I have an abysmal memory. I’ve genuinely forgotten most of my childhood. The more my family talks about the past, the more I think I was actually adopted or something.

Continue reading “Bookish Post: Book Blogger Memory Challenge”

Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read

img_4240

How has your week been? What have you been reading?

I’ve eaten so much this weekend. It’s not even funny. Yesterday, I went to a local food market with a friend. We ate bratwurst and churros. Then I bought the biggest slice of custard tart for that evening. And I still have a massive slice of cheesecake to eat. Then, today I made brownies for a friend but, because the first batch went wrong, I had to make them again. And, after I’d made the first batch, I used the leftover peanut butter chips to make pancakes. I’m fucking stuffed and I still have my evening meal to eat. I think I’ll have to go for a walk to make room. I was meant to be using today to read. I’m just going to be in a food coma all evening.

Continue reading “Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read”

Book Review – Heartstream by Tom Pollock

img_0676-012924493190472698180.jpeg5_star_rating_system_2_and_a_half_stars I picked up this book because it claimed to be perfect for fans of Black Mirror. Now, being a fan of all things Charlie Brooker, I decided to give it a go. I mean, it calls itself a “taut psychological thriller about obsession, fame and betrayal”. How can you ignore claims like that? When I picked it up, I hadn’t realised that it was a YA book. I’d not read anything from Tom Pollock and I never really look into the books that sound interesting to me. So, I started reading what I thought was an adult book and I hated it. I thought it was super shit. Then I realised who this book was intended for and I realised I had to look at it differently. Turns out, once I lowered my expectations, I found it much easier to read this book and I got through it super quickly.

Continue reading “Book Review – Heartstream by Tom Pollock”

Bookish Post – July Reading Wrap-Up

img_20190124_114545-012195561328041245379.jpeg

Apparently I didn’t do a monthly wrap-up last month. God knows why. Although, I did do a Mid-Year Rundown last month. A quick look back on the best and worst books I’ve read in the first half of this year.

Continue reading “Bookish Post – July Reading Wrap-Up”

Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read

img_4240

How has your week been? What have you been reading?

Is it just me or are the weeks getting longer and the weekends getting shorter? Maybe it’s because I don’t have any leave from work coming up but my workdays are dragging along. And this weekend went by in the blink of an eye. Although, I had a great time on Saturday celebrating the 1st birthday of my friend’s son. She threw a BBQ and it was super nice. Hot but nice. I definitely got sunburnt but it was worth it. The three of them had a great time. But today has flown by. I wasted a few hours finishing my current read this morning and then spent some time taking photos for the week. Then I’ve just wasted my time. Just like normal. Classic Sunday.

Continue reading “Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read”

Book Review – The Colorado Kid by Stephen King

img_0648-011156944446969006480.jpeg 5_star_rating_system_4_stars1 I made a huge mistake last night. I made the decision to carry on reading until I finished this book. I just couldn’t put it off any longer. It meant I went to bed super late and was an absolute mess this morning. I emailed a colleague thinking he was a customer. It wasn’t a massive thing but it could just have easily have been the other way round. Nobody should have to answer emails before noon. And then, to add insult to injury, I had a 45-minute phone call with a customer. Thankfully, it wasn’t a bad one but it went on too long. She wanted me to sort somethings out for her and insisted on waiting on the line as I did it. As we all know, doing your job whilst someone is hovering always makes it impossible so it was a bit of a nightmare. So, I had a dodgy start to the day. But the rest of it went okay. And at least I didn’t have to worry about finishing the book for tonight’s post.

Continue reading “Book Review – The Colorado Kid by Stephen King”

Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read

img_4240

How has your week been? What have you been reading?

This weekend has just flown by. Yesterday was a long day that saw me traveling to and from a friend’s wedding. It took 2 hours to get there, 2 hours back, and a lot sitting around waiting. Most of the guests were staying over so could go and wait in their hotel rooms. Not me. Plus, I couldn’t drink anything most of the night for fear I’d need loads of toilet breaks on the journey home. But the actual wedding was lovely and a lot of fun. The bride looked beautiful and it was a really emotional day. But I’m tired and have done nothing all day. Well, except get angry with a random comment on my Instagram. After ranting about how badly written and pretentious a book was, someone commented that they “liked complicated language” and might give it a go. To me, this suggested that they hadn’t read my caption properly and were suggesting I was too stupid to understand the book. I wasn’t. I was suggesting the writer was too stupid to write a book. What is this awful shaming thing that goes on with bookish people? It’s pathetic. If you want to waste your time reading a book with nothing to say then fine. Just don’t suggest that I’m not a good enough reader for a book you’ve not even seen.

Continue reading “Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read”

Book Review – The Pine Islands by Marion Poschmann

9781788160919_25_star_rating_system_4_stars1 I stumbled across this whilst browsing in a bookshop. I read the back and was instantly hooked. It sounded absolutely perfect and everything I wanted to read. So, I bought a copy. Like any normal human being, right? Apparently not. At least not according to the people on GoodReads. Whilst updating my status with this book the other day I saw something that really irritated me so I’m going to have a quick rant before I get on with my review.

I would never have read this novel if it weren’t for the Booker International longlist – I’d already seen the blurb a few months earlier and decided the book wasn’t for me. After the longlist was announced, I requested and received an ARC of The Pine Islands, direct from a very nice member of staff at the publisher

So, you had already rejected a book because it wasn’t for you but then it nearly won a prize. Then you demanded a copy of it for free, knowing that, in all likelihood, you weren’t going to enjoy it that much. What the hell kind of entitlement is that? This is the kind of shit that gives all bloggers a bad name. Like the people who went into a restaurant and demanded a free meal in exchange for a review. It’s pathetic. The fact that this person also appears to be the kind of person who uses their reviews to let everyone know that they’re more intelligent than you. I mean, it’s GoodReads for fuck’s sake. If the review goes on more than 5 paragraphs it’s too much. Anyway, as you can tell it put me in a huge mood. So, I’d better get on with the reason I’m here.

Continue reading “Book Review – The Pine Islands by Marion Poschmann”

Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read

img_4240

How has your week been? What have you been reading?

Urgh, back to work tomorrow. How has this week gone by so quickly? I’ve had a really lovely week though. I’ve seen friends, spent time with my family, and just relaxed. I’ve also had a stressful time trying to find a dress for a wedding next week. I hate shopping for an occasion. It’s all so stressful and sizes don’t make any sense. What is it with clothes companies not factoring in people with larger chests? According to the first result on Google, the average bra size in the UK is 36DD. So, why are we still making clothes assuming that it’s still 34B? It doesn’t make sense. In order to get a good fit on the top, I have to suffer through a larger lower half. I hate it. And I’ve bought so many different dresses this week. All our delivery men and my local post office must think I’m insane with the number of parcels I get and send back.

Continue reading “Sunday Rundown: That’s What She Read”

Mid-Year Rundown

dscn9696-01-01-01-017697817454088160256.jpeg

It’s July. We’re officially halfway through 2019. Well, really we’re over halfway through the year. The exact halfway point was 3rd July but let’s not focus on that for now. Instead, let’s take a look at how the year has gone so far. Earlier this month I was informed that I had managed to pass my 2019 GoodReads‘ reading goal. I’d set myself a fairly easy task of 30 books because last year I only just managed to get beyond that. 2018 was a dreadful year full of reading slumps and long books. So, I certainly never expected to reach my goal quite so quickly. I’ve decided to increase my target to 50 which, based on the rate I’m going, should be fine. But, who knows when the next slump will hit.

Continue reading “Mid-Year Rundown”